Brain Pickings


brain pickingsBrain Pickings is an incredible blog by Maria Popova.  A few days ago she blogged magnificently about the new compilation from the Oliver Sacks Foundation, River of Consciousness.  More about that in a moment, but I’ve been so taken with Maria’s contributions that I wanted to share this synopsis with you.

After delving more into Ms. Popova’s blogs, which I’m embarrassed to say I hadn’t been familiar with before, I can see why she was selected to be one of the handful of participants celebrating Oliver’s life on Monday evening, November 20, at the 92nd St. Y in Manhattan.  If it weren’t my first day back from an Arizona mini-sabbatical, I’d be there in a heartbeat.

Screen Shot 2017-11-13 at 7.49.37 PM

Last week I was strolling down the main street of Cottonwood, Arizona prior to boarding the Verde Canyon Railroad Tour.  Naturally this sign caught my eye, and I couldn’t resist ducking inside for a look.

IMG_7661-3Talk about a kid in a candy shop!  It is described as America’s most unique book store for a good reason.  The first thing that captured my attention in the health section was a paperback of The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat — the British paperback edition published by Picador, which I had never seen before!

IMG_7653

And then, adjacent to it, the Picador edition of The Mind’s Eye.

IMG_7646

2 thoughts on “Brain Pickings

Leave a Reply

