Reports of My Retirement are Premature


Mark Twain is commonly misquoted as having said “Rumors of my death are greatly exaggerated“.  This is what he actually wrote:

Twin Death Exaggeration

I feel the urge to say the same thing about reports of my retirement.  The misperception on the block – and this has come to me via inquiries from numerous sources over the past few months – is that I may no longer be seeing patients.  I initially experienced it when fielding inquiries about our Residency program for next year.   I’m pleased to tell you that I plan to continue seeing and caring for patients because it is one of the most mutually rewarding activities imaginable.  I do understand where the misperception comes from.  It is inevitable when one begins the process of selling a practice that people think: “Ah, he’s getting ready to walk off into the sunset; good for him …”

figure_walking_into_sunset_14043And certainly part of the perception may be due to my own choice of words.  After all, when I began to take leave for the month of March to indulge in baseball fandom and sunsets on Clearwater Beach,  complemented by a month of self-indulgence in Arizona in the Fall, I initially described it as “sampling retirement”.  I now refer to it as taking a month’s “mini-sabbatical” in six month cycles.  During these mini-sabbaticals Miriam and I would stay in close contact with the office.  In fact, this month finds our dining room table in the Sandpearl Residence outfitted the way it usualy is, feasting on go to my pc and accessing Compulink just as if we were in the office.

IMG_3197

So the delightful take-home message is this:  We’re in the process of finalizing the sale of our practice, transferring day-to-day ownership responsibilities, but will remain actively involved in patient care and in mentoring.  More on that to come, as the process evolves …

3 thoughts on “Reports of My Retirement are Premature

  1. I have the same questions asked of me. Glad to hear you are still plan to see patients and be active in the profession. For me, I can only sample a week at a time. Don’t know what I would do with a month although I am sure Brenda would find something for me/us to do. I believe you and I share the same love for our profession among many others.

  2. I fantasize about retiring: and only working 30-40 hours per week! I could never give it up completely because:
    a. Our patients need us too much.
    b. It’s too much fun to quit.
    c. It’s too exciting to quit.
    d. It keeps me out of trouble.
    e. All of the above.

Leave a Reply

