Cataract Surgery Re-Visited


The first time it visited with me was in 2012.  My left eye.  When patients tell you that their vision seemingly changed overnight, and they have a condition such as acquired, non-traumatic cataract, don’t you feel they must have missed the clues that their vision was changing prior to this relatively “sudden onset” awareness of blur?  My experience though was similar to what many patients have told me through the years.  Apparently the cataract snuck up on them so stealthily that one day, seemingly out of the blue, blur registered.

John Berger wrote a pithy 67 page book of notes after having had cataract surgery, which I find myself looking at again this evening after Dr. Hadley Phillips operated on my right eye, five years after having done the left.

fullsizerender-443

fullsizerender-444

berger4

We had done the calculations for the IOL for my right eye last week.  I wanted to preserve the underminus and aspheric effect with modified monovision that I had enjoyed after Dr. Martin Fox’s superb LASIK surgery on my corneas 17 years ago.  Dr. Phillips and I set the game plan last week, but calculating IOL outcomes is a bit like having different models available for snowfall forecasting, particularly when one has had corneal refractive surgery.

snow-models

I’m pleased with the result this evening, now that my right pupil is back to normal size and my distance vision through the right eye is noticeably sharper than the left – which is still a lovely near eye.  But might the vision through my right eye be a bit “too sharp”?  Back tomorrow A.M. for a post-op visit, and then some further reflections on binocular balance.

berger-eye

5 thoughts on “Cataract Surgery Re-Visited

  1. Hi Len, This “sneaking up” phenomena seems to happen in presbyopia sometimes too. The way I look at this, is that it is a sign of the incredible processing and adaptability of the visual process to adjust to “hardware” changes. Subtle and not so subtle changes in behaviour that occur unconsciously to these losses in flexibility. It shifts to consciousness when the ability to adapt runs out. As much as I don’t like computer analogies, we get sometimes don’t notice the computer running slower than usual until it hits a critical point. Hope all goes well and thanks for sharing. Paul

Leave a Reply

